Victorian Bookbinders Guild

For all interested in the Art, Craft and Practice of Bookbinding                                             

Before I went away I had the pleasure of producing some mockups, then proof copies of a childrens book, as test marketing samples. 25 copies and an interesting exersize working out how to produce them efficiently and cleanly. See some pictures here.  Boards between folios, using the  folio is a hinge, with the outer folio as a wrapper. 

 But even more, we just (28 Nov 2017) received an update  the pics are attached in the gallery below

Hi Jim,

just wanted to thank you again for all your help!  As a result of the wonderful set of books that you made, we ended up getting a big order from a Viking webshop based in Sweden (www.Grimfrost.com), and an offer to launch it here at Little Bookroom!

We therefore did a print run of 500 with 1010 Printing (which has an Australian office in Queensland) and had the launch a couple of weeks ago, which was a huge amount of fun, and now this morning Grimfrost has just ordered another run of 500!

So thank you again; you and the Bookbinders Guild made this possible!   Rose Bush.

Member login

Call for Contributions

Have you recently completed a project? Our members would love to hear about it!

Please send a short paragraph and a picture to the Editor, preferably by email to editor@vbg.net.au so that we can include your account in our next newsletter and on our website.

We also encourage members to share their achievements and experiences at club nights. Bring along photos, drawings or examples and feel welcome to talk about these as part of the meeting.

Recent News

Meetings & Events

Tue May 28 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting May Making Gold Book Titles
Tue Jun 25 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting June Topic to be confirmed.
Sat Jun 29 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Conservation Boxes
Fri Jul 05 @09:00 - 09:00PM
Rare Book Week and Book Fair 04-15th
Tue Jul 23 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting July Buy Swap and sell, AGM
Sat Jul 27 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Thesis Binding
Sat Aug 10 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Nag Hammadi
Tue Aug 27 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting August Carmelite Library Joint Meeting
Tue Sep 24 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting Sept To Be decided
Sat Oct 12 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop Britannica section
Tue Oct 22 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting October topic to be confirmed
Fri Oct 25 @12:00 -
Bind 19 Bookbinding Conference Sydney 25-27
Sat Nov 02 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop to be confirmed
Tue Nov 26 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting November. Binding Challenge and Breakup

Victorian Bookbinders Guild Inc.  Incorporated 1981     Registration No A2896  ABN: 97 853 169 281     PO Box 355, Seddon West, Victoria 3011