Victorian Bookbinders Guild

For all interested in the Art, Craft and Practice of Bookbinding                                             

Case Binding 101 is the first workshop for those considering making their own books.

 

The participants will learn a range of essential basic skills which are essential to stable and workable books. These skills involve understanding paper, board and board cloth, preparation of the book block including simple stitching,  preparation of the end papers, boards, and cloth covers, correct measuring, correct cutting, and use of adhesives. These skills form the basis of  almost all binding from simple to complex binding structures. Using a minimal toolkit, these bindings can then be reproduced at home. All materials are supplied and the Guild tool kits can be used by participants who do not have their own tools.

This workshop is a prerequisite for most other workshops.

Cost. The workshop including materials and the use of the Guild tools. $50.00                                     New members  who join the Guild before the workshop can apply for fee  relief.

This workshop would normally be held at West Hawthorn Uniting Church where the Guild meets regularly,  however numbers may dictate different venues.

Go to Registration

Member login

Call for Contributions

Have you recently completed a project? Our members would love to hear about it!

Please send a short paragraph and a picture to the Editor, preferably by email to editor@vbg.net.au so that we can include your account in our next newsletter and on our website.

We also encourage members to share their achievements and experiences at club nights. Bring along photos, drawings or examples and feel welcome to talk about these as part of the meeting.

Recent News

Meetings & Events

Sat May 04 @10:00 - 06:00PM
Clunes Book Town 14th -16th
Tue May 28 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting May Making Gold Book Titles
Tue Jun 25 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting June Topic to be confirmed.
Sat Jun 29 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Conservation Boxes
Fri Jul 05 @09:00 - 09:00PM
Rare Book Week and Book Fair 04-15th
Tue Jul 23 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting July Buy Swap and sell, AGM
Sat Jul 27 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Thesis Binding
Sat Aug 10 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Nag Hammadi
Tue Aug 27 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting August Carmelite Library Joint Meeting
Tue Sep 24 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting Sept To Be decided
Sat Oct 12 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop Britannica section
Tue Oct 22 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting October topic to be confirmed
Fri Oct 25 @12:00 -
Bind 19 Bookbinding Conference Sydney 25-27
Sat Nov 02 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop to be confirmed
Tue Nov 26 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting November. Binding Challenge and Breakup

Victorian Bookbinders Guild Inc.  Incorporated 1981     Registration No A2896  ABN: 97 853 169 281     PO Box 355, Seddon West, Victoria 3011