Victorian Bookbinders Guild

For all interested in the Art, Craft and Practice of Bookbinding                                             

I was all set to depart for China in late June when an email arrived

Daphne Dobbins Bindery was for sale in mid NSW and that a clearing sale was to happen while I was away.

I called to ask about what was being offered  and received a list of materials.No Time to negotiate, no time to examine, so I then took it upon myself to purchase the lot on behalf of the Guild, with a view looking forward to a permanent home were we could run classes regularly, and would need equipement to outfit such a studio. I took a gamble that the value was right and that the Guild would want the items, and if they didn’t,  well, I cant fit it in my bindery so I guess we will have a big buy swap and sell sometime to recoup as much as I can from it.  Some lovely materials, equipment and library, still not fully examined , but unpacked enough to take some pics to be able to show it.

We showed these pics on Tuesday and the meeting seemed to think it was a good move. In due course the Committee will make some decisions regarding  its future. For now it is soon to be in storage.  All we need now is a long term accomodation for a bindery/classrooms. Keep looking, the committee are also looking.  We have now several gifts of equipment, and so a great base for that bindery. JIM

 

Member login

Meetings & Events

Tue May 28 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting May Making Gold Book Titles
Tue Jun 25 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting June Topic to be confirmed.
Sat Jun 29 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Conservation Boxes
Fri Jul 05 @09:00 - 09:00PM
Rare Book Week and Book Fair 04-15th
Tue Jul 23 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting July Buy Swap and sell, AGM
Sat Jul 27 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Thesis Binding
Sat Aug 10 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Nag Hammadi
Tue Aug 27 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting August Carmelite Library Joint Meeting
Tue Sep 24 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting Sept To Be decided
Sat Oct 12 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop Britannica section
Tue Oct 22 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting October topic to be confirmed
Fri Oct 25 @12:00 -
Bind 19 Bookbinding Conference Sydney 25-27
Sat Nov 02 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop to be confirmed
Tue Nov 26 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting November. Binding Challenge and Breakup

Victorian Bookbinders Guild Inc.  Incorporated 1981     Registration No A2896  ABN: 97 853 169 281     PO Box 355, Seddon West, Victoria 3011