Victorian Bookbinders Guild

For all interested in the Art, Craft and Practice of Bookbinding                                             

Events Calendar

Workshop Case Binding 101
Saturday 09 March 2019, 09:00 - 18:00
 
Contact president@vbg.net.au

Basic First Binding

Are you interested in making books? Do you need to know the basics of materials, tools and techniques? This one day workshop introduces the basics of book construction, using the simple case binding style to  teach paper handling, paper selection, folding, sewing and gluing, and the basic book board cloth coverd case. All materials are supplied, and the cost is subsidised to first time participants 

This class is a prerequisite for all other level one classes. You will make one case bound notebook to take away. Classes are limited to 6 so individual attention can be given, and may be conducted at a variety of venues dependent on registrations. Minimum class size 4 persons.

Registration essential, 

Location to be decided.
Venue may change dependent on numbers

View All Events

Member login

Meetings & Events

Tue May 28 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting May Making Gold Book Titles
Tue Jun 25 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting June Topic to be confirmed.
Sat Jun 29 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Conservation Boxes
Fri Jul 05 @09:00 - 09:00PM
Rare Book Week and Book Fair 04-15th
Tue Jul 23 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting July Buy Swap and sell, AGM
Sat Jul 27 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Thesis Binding
Sat Aug 10 @09:00 - 05:00PM
Workshop Nag Hammadi
Tue Aug 27 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting August Carmelite Library Joint Meeting
Tue Sep 24 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting Sept To Be decided
Sat Oct 12 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop Britannica section
Tue Oct 22 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting October topic to be confirmed
Fri Oct 25 @12:00 -
Bind 19 Bookbinding Conference Sydney 25-27
Sat Nov 02 @09:00 - 04:00PM
Workshop to be confirmed
Tue Nov 26 @19:00 - 09:00PM
Monthly Meeting November. Binding Challenge and Breakup

Victorian Bookbinders Guild Inc.  Incorporated 1981     Registration No A2896  ABN: 97 853 169 281     PO Box 355, Seddon West, Victoria 3011